The Romance of Crete


Agia Triada, Akrotiri Peninsula, Crete

Agia Triada, Akrotiri Peninsula, Crete

March 20th 2013 – I’m sitting in a shady spot on a stone wall in the Agia Triada monastery courtyard.  After the short, easy 15-minute bike ride to this peaceful green oasis I wonder why I don’t do this more often.  I’ve been here many too many times to count but usually, on a nice warm day the sea beckons me and I find myself on the beach instead.  Not too bad a dilemma, I know.

Agia Triada

Agia Triada

Today I find my favorite shady spot to do some reflection and writing.  I have my favorite sunny bench, too, but anywhere within these ancient walls is a good place to sit among the scores of potted flowers, blooming fruit trees and cheerful birds.  And, of course, there’s always a stray cat (or ten) looking for a lap to sit in.  Unlike the harsh world outside these walls, the strays are taken care of (or at least tolerated) by the good-hearted monks.  It’s nice to see a healthy cat in Crete – there are so few.

Naptime at the monastery

Naptime at the monastery

A Greek Mediterranean Island in the spring – sounds romantic, doesn’t it?  It is…sometimes.  But Crete isn’t untouched by the perils of this world (just read the news about Greece.)  As with any romance, there are highs and lows, beauty and ugliness.  No place this side of heaven is perfect.  A friend once observed that this island is a harsh place to live and it will break you if you allow it.  She meant this in a good way.  We’ve all been through a romance at least once in our lives that was worth pushing thorough the trials, painstakingly peeling back the stubborn layers to finally reveal a sweet fruit.  It takes time, patience, tolerance, compassion, humility and a huge sense of humor.  But in the end it’s worth it.  Crete is not perfect but it HAS romanced me like no other place towards the heart of God.  It’s here in His presence where I settle in, relax and find peace and safety not in a perfect spot but in His Perfect Love.

“One day spent in your house, this beautiful place of worship,
    beats thousands spent on Greek island beaches.”   Psalm 84:10 (The Message)

About slow food for the soul

Quote: "The best journeys ask questions that in the beginning you never thought to ask." (Anon) Here's my journey: Enjoying my short life on this earth one moment at a time by being intentional with God, family, traveling, cooking, gardening, Colorado living and all the perks that come with it, playing guitar, listening more and talking less. I've discovered that both cooking and travel can be messy at times but the risks can have some amazing results. The same goes for life lived with passion.
This entry was posted in Crete, Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Romance of Crete

  1. giovannitedeschini says:

    Mel! I read you and it seems you are in front of me,
    Any flat tyre this time?
    I love your blog! And your attitude! Go Mel, go.
    Gio

  2. Beautifully put! That looks like the perfect place for writing and introspection.

  3. Beverly Buonviri says:

    Mel, your words are always beautifully written and your compassion for the island and your faith always shines through them!

  4. What a gorgeous place! Spring in Crete sounds magical – here in France, we’re still muffled up against the cold!

  5. Beautiful! You’re right, this should be done more often. =>

  6. genevieve says:

    Gorgeous! I am so excited to go to Crete soon, thank you for further inspiration for when saving money gets tough!

    http://www.genevievewanderbug.wordpress.com

  7. debra1956z says:

    I can feel your story. Your moments in this time is a precious treasure. Thank you for delighting my mind with it.

  8. cgmyr says:

    I’ve always wanted to go here! Thanks for helping me to live vicariously 🙂

  9. The Rider says:

    I love your photos!

  10. Loca Gringa says:

    Beautiful! I look forward to reading more of your blog!

  11. Reblogged this on Illusions: A Republic Lost and commented:
    When we ride our Harley I see, smell, and hear life around me. I feel blessed and honored that our creator loved us enough to sacrifice for us.

  12. emmahenly says:

    I’ve nominated you for the liebster award! You are an exceptional writer. thank you for inspiring me! =)http://emmahenly.wordpress.com/2013/05/13/411/

  13. Arindam says:

    Cheers! I l love travelling but have not been able to travel to this part of the world. so living vicariously on your writing. Thanks for sharing

    http://heritagehiker.wordpress.com/

  14. ritavegas says:

    What a wonderful place to spend your vacation! Hopefully I’ll come with my husband next year to show him the Cretan beauties!

Leave a Reply

